British perspective

A British perspective on the American Independence Day…. []

On 4 July each year the United States of America celebrates their Declaration of Independence from Great Britain and we look back at the events of 1776. The Declaration was signed by the thirteen states of America that existed at that time. These states were Georgia, North Carolina, South Carolina, Massachusetts, Maryland, Virginia, Pennsylvania, Delaware, New York, New Jersey, New Hampshire, Rhode Island and Connecticut. Amongst the signatories were Thomas Jefferson (of Virginia) and Benjamin Franklin (of Pennsylvania), both future Presidents of the United States of America. At this time a lot of what is now the United States of America was unexplored, particularly in the interior and west coast areas.

One correction should be made here, as Benjamin Franklin was not a future President of the United States.

Leave a comment